Student News


MC Law Wins Best Brief & Advances to Semi-finals in the 2011 Zehmer Workers Compensation Moot Court Competition


Ausust 22, 2011 - The Mississippi College School of Law Moot Court Board sent two teams to compete in the 2011 National E. Earle Zehmer Workers Compensation Moot Court Competition.  The competition was held on August 19-22 in Orlando, FL.  Third-year advocates Amanda Myers and Sean Brown, and second-year advocate and brief writer Sam Gregory made it to the semi-final round of the competition and won the Best Brief.  Third-year advocates Abby Ersin, Bethany Tarpley and Amanda Sowell also competed.


The competition was part of the 66th Annual Workers Compensation Educational Conference and the 23rd Annual Safety and Health Conference.  MC Law competed against teams from Florida A&M University College of Law, Florida Costal School of Law, Florida State University College of Law, Nova S.E. University Shepherd BroadLaw Center, St. Thomas University College of Law, Stetson University College of Law, University of Florida Levin College of Law and the University of Miami School of Law.


Timothy D. Crawley '78, a managing member of Anderson, Crawley & Burke, PLLC; Loraleigh Phillips '06, of Allen, Kopet & Associates, PLLC; and Professor Meta Copeland '98, director of the legal extern program at MC Law coached both teams.