Law School News


MC Law defeated the University of Mississippi Law School in this spring's Seventh Annual Ogletree Deakins Mississippi Moot Court Championship held April 8-9, 2010.  Each year students from the two schools participate in the appellate competition for the honor of claiming both the trophy and the title for their school.  The MC Law team composed of second-year advocates Neil Wilson and Andrew McDowell prevailed as this year's overall competition winner.


MC Law students who advanced to the quarterfinal round included third-year advocates Abby von Fischer-Benzon and Taylor Polk, who competed against second-year advocates Erin Bachman and Megan Potts, as well as third-year advocates John Dollarhide and Pamela Grady, who competed against Wilson and McDowell.  In the semifinal round, the second-year teams faced off against each other, with Wilson and McDowell edging out Bachman and Potts to advance to the championship round.  


In the final round, held at the Mississippi Supreme Court, Wilson and McDowell defeated the University of Mississippi Law School's Russell Barksdale and Jonathan Proctor.  In addition to claiming the championship trophy on behalf of MC Law, McDowell also received the Outstanding Oral Advocate award.  Third-year MC Law student Grady claimed the competition’s Best Advocate award. 


The competition's final argument was held before a panel of esteemed guest judges, including:  Bert Ehrhardt, of Ogletree Deakins; Judge Linda Anderson, Magistrate Judge for the United States District Court for the Southern District of Mississippi; Justice George C. Carlson, Presiding Justice of the Mississippi Supreme Court; Tim Lindsay, of Ogletree Deakins; and Harold Pizzetta, Division Head of Civil Litigation at the Attorney General's Office.  

The law firm of Ogletree Deakins, one of the nation's top labor & employment law firms, annually sponsors this appellate competition, which has become a premier event in the Mississippi law school community.