Student News



MC Law Participated in the 2010 National E. Earle Zehmer Moot Court Competition


The Mississippi College School of Law Moot Court Board competed in the 2010 National E. Earle Zehmer Moot Court Competition on August 14-16, 2010. The students traveled to Orlando, FL, where they competed against 12 other teams. Two teams represented MC Law during the competition. Third-year advocates Megan Potts, Mallory Wilson-Gibson, with brief writing assistance from Seth Thompson and third-year advocates Lindsey Gilbert and Jamie Manley. 


The E. Earle Zehmer Moot Court Competition requires student competitors to prepare written briefs and oral arguments addressing the issues of compensability, jurisdiction, traveling employee status and willful intent to injure. “Through this competition, MC Law students will gain an understanding of workers' compensation law, a thriving practice area that is outside the core curriculum of law school courses,” said Professor Meta Copeland. “As such, this competition provides a valuable teaching tool not only in legal researching, writing, and oral advocacy, but also in practical legal skills.”


Both teams were coached by Tim Crawley of Anderson Crawley & Burke, PLLC; Loraleigh Phillips (’06) of Allen, Kopet & Associates, PLLC; and Professor Meta Copeland (’98). 


 “As the only non-Florida law school participating in this year’s event, which focuses on issues involved in Florida’s workers’ compensation law, MC Law’s  teams entered with a disadvantage compared to the Florida teams they competed against, but have overcome all obstacles to develop their written and oral advocacy skills to perform at the highest level,” said team coach Tim Crawley.