Student News


MC Law 2011 Elliott Cup Finalists


Feb. 20, 2011 -- On Saturday, February 19, MC Law competed in the Sixth Annual Texas/Fifth Circuit Bankruptcy Moot Court Competition for the 2011 Elliott Cup, hosted by the University of Texas School of Law in Austin.  Third-year oralists, Emily Scott and Tim Anzenberger made it to the final round of the Elliott Cup.  Second-year oralists, Margaret Britt and Daryl Smith also competed. These students will go on to compete in the 19th Annual Chief Judge Conrad B. Duberstein Bankruptcy Memorial Moot Court Competition at St. John's University School of Law March 5-7 in New York.


The Elliott Cup, named in honor of the late Joseph C. Elliott, U.S. Bankruptcy Judge for the Western District of Texas, is sponsored by the Bankruptcy Section of the State Bar of Texas and includes law schools located in the Fifth Circuit. The Elliott Cup serves as a formal practice for Fifth Circuit law school teams registered to compete in the 2011 Duberstein National Moot Court Competition.

The competition was composed of seventeen teams from the following law schools: Baylor University School of Law, Mississippi College School of Law, Saint Mary's University School of Law, South Texas College of Law, Southern Methodist University School of Law, Texas Southern University Thurgood Marshall School of Law, Texas Tech University School of Law, University of Houston Law Center, and University of Texas At Austin School of Law.


The MC Law teams were coached by Bill Leech, an ’81 Vanderbilt School of Law graduate and a shareholder at Copeland, Cook, Taylor and Bush, P.A. and Danny Ruhl, a ’04 Mississippi College School of Law graduate and an Associate at Copeland, Cook, Taylor and Bush, P.A.