MC Law News

Moot Court Board Hosts Annual Copeland, Cook, Taylor and Bush Competition

Finalist Sam Newman, Dean Patricia Bennett, and winner Olivia Sage Finalist Sam Newman, Dean Patricia Bennett, and winner Olivia Sage

The MC Law Moot Court Board recently hosted the annual Copeland, Cook, Taylor & Bush (CCTB) competition. The competition, which took place from September 4 to September 12, gives 2L students the opportunity to compete for a spot on the 2018-19 Moot Court Board.  

Following several days of elimination rounds, the final round was held at the Supreme Court of Mississippi on September 12, 2018. Sam Newman (’20) was named finalist and Olivia Sage (’20) was named the overall winner.  The panel of final round judges included: Justice James W. Kitchens (Mississippi Supreme Court Justice), Justice Leslie D. King (Mississippi Supreme Court Justice), Judge Sean J. Tindell (Mississippi Court of Appeals), Bill Leech, (Shareholder, Copeland, Cook, Taylor & Bush), John Geary (Shareholder, Copeland, Cook, Taylor & Bush), and Sarah Beth Wilson (Shareholder, Copeland, Cook, Taylor & Bush).

Winner Olivia Sage says that although the competition was challenging, it provided beneficial advice from the judges, which helped improve her presentation with each round. “Since there were several rounds, I was able to apply critiques and commentary from previous rounds every time I advanced,” she says. “That was so helpful - hearing feedback from attorneys and the Moot Court Board was indispensable and really the reason why I feel like I was able to win.”  

Sage notes that the competition experience is one she will carry into the future. “Going forward, I will continue to use that feedback and I know it will make me a stronger advocate. As for winning, it was an honor to be able to compete at the Mississippi Supreme Court, especially in front of the panel of judges I had. That feeling will stay with me forever."

To view the full list of the new 2L Moot Court Board members and the competition winners, click here.

To learn more about sponsoring law firm Copeland, Cook, Taylor & Bush, click here.